Faculty News
General UCSF Medical Education News

The Haile T. Debas Academy of Medical Educators Announces New Endowed Chairs Holders

 |  By Karen Brent

The Haile T. Debas Academy of Medical Educators (Academy, Academy of Medical Educators, or AME) announces its 2023 appointed matched and program based-endowed chair holders, whose terms start July 1 and serve for five years.

Matched Endowed Chairs:

Guided by the vision of the former dean of the UCSF School of Medicine, Haile T. Debas, the Academy has facilitated the establishment of a portfolio of matched endowed chairs in support of teaching excellence. These chairs have a five-year term limit and provide a limited discretionary income stream intended to support value added educational work. Beginning in 2001, when the endowed chair program was established, each matched chair was funded by $250,000 from the Dean's Office and at least $250,000 in academic departmental funding. A minimally endowed chair with a corpus of $500,000 produces approximately $25,000 income annually (less management fees).

As of 2015, there are 20 established matched endowed chairs. More than $10 million has been committed to this program, with the income working to enhance medical student education across the school. All chair holders are members of the Academy and play vital roles in serving as liaisons between the Academy and their academic departments.

Sexton Sutherland Endowed Chair in Human Anatomy

Sol Shnider Endowed Chair for Anesthesia Education

Robert B. Domush, MD, Chair in Obstetrics and Gynecology Education

Academy Chair in Orthopaedic Surgery

Academy Chair in Pediatric Education

Endowed Chair in Psychiatry Medical Student Education

Academy-Based Chairs

In 2008, additional funding was committed to establish a portfolio of endowed chairs based solely within the Academy. The first chair of this kind was established in 2010. Like the matched endowed chair program, the intent is to allow talented teachers to expand their impact as educators at UCSF and beyond by providing a source of discretionary funding for the educator’s use. Unlike the matched endowed chair program, the funding does not include matched academic department funding. Academy chairs also have a five-year term limit; within the established overall purpose, the Academy may designate a specific focus of work for each term. As of 2015, there are four established academy-based endowed chairs, three focused on advancing teaching and learning and one on administrative leadership for the Academy, all with appointed chair holders.

Academy Chair for Innovation in Teaching

Academy Chair for Educational Teaching



Please review the full list of Academy endowed chairholders. If you have any questions or comments about the endowed chair program, please contact Raquel Rodriguez-Piscitello at raquel.rodriguez@ucsf.edu.

The Academy of Medical Educators is part of the Center for Faculty Educators, and its core value is supporting the people who advance the education mission of UCSF by fostering an organizational culture that values education and accelerates advances in teaching and learning to improve health with an emphasis on community, diversity, advocacy, service, and innovation.