Academy Endowed Chair Program

Matched Endowed Chairs

Program Description: Guided by the vision of the former dean of the UCSF School of Medicine, Haile T. Debas, the Academy has facilitated the establishment of a portfolio of matched endowed chairs in support of teaching excellence. These chairs have a five-year term limit and provide a limited discretionary income stream intended to support value added educational work. Beginning in 2001, when the endowed chair program was established, each matched chair was funded by $250,000 from the Dean's Office and at least $250,000 in academic departmental funding. A minimally endowed chair with a corpus of $500,000 produces approximately $25,000 income annually (less management fees).

As of 2015, there are 20 established matched endowed chairs, with 19 appointed chair holders in 17 different departments. More than $10 million has been committed to this program, with the income working to enhance medical student education across the school. All chair holders are members of the Academy and play vital roles in serving as liaisons between the Academy and their academic departments.

Academy-Based Chairs

Program Description: In 2008, additional funding was committed to establish a portfolio of endowed chairs based solely within the Academy. The first chair of this kind was established in 2010. Like the matched endowed chair program, the intent is to allow talented teachers to expand their impact as educators at UCSF and beyond by providing a source of discretionary funding for the educator’s use. Unlike the matched endowed chair program, the funding does not include matched academic department funding. Academy chairs also have a five-year term limit; within the established overall purpose, the Academy may designate a specific focus of work for each term. As of 2015, there are four established academy-based endowed chairs, three focused on advancing teaching and learning and one on administrative leadership for the Academy, all with appointed chair holders.

List of Endowed Chair Holders

If you have any questions or comments about the endowed chair program, please contact Raquel Rodriguez-Piscitello at .