The Haile T. Debas Academy of Medical Educators

AME 20th Anniversary Logo

The Haile T. Debas Academy of Medical Educator's (Academy or AME) core value is supporting the people who advance the education mission of UCSF by fostering an organizational culture that values education and accelerates advances in teaching and learning to improve health with an emphasis on community, diversity, advocacy, service, and innovation.

MAKE A DONATION TO THE AME Innovations Funding Campaign


Members from the schools of medicine, Dentistry, nursing, and pharmacy


Core teaching sites: east bay, ucsf fresno, mission bay, mount zion, parnassus, sfvamc, and zsfg


interprofessional, clinical, and basic science departments

Our Commitment to Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

The Academy's Diversity and Inclusion Committee is charged broadly with: training the Academy community in diversity, equity, and inclusion as it pertains to education; partnering effectively with the broader diversity initiatives in the Center for Faculty Educators, Office of Medical Education, School of Medicine, and UCSF overall leveraging the mission, purpose, values, and strengths of the Academy; and, ensuring a culture of diversity and inclusion within the Academy with transparent and critical review our diversity and inclusion.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Tip Sheet

Next Meetings

  • Friday, June 21, 1 - 4 pm: AME Summer Meeting (In-Person/Zoom), Mission Hall (Room 1400)
    • 1 - 2 pm: Lunch for In-person Attendees
    • 2 - 4 pm: Meeting (In-person/Zoom)
  • Celebration of New Members 2024 (Zoom and in-person, location TBD), Wednesday, September 11, 2:30 pm - 5 pm

Learn More About the Academy

Share our AME brochure!

Access the AME Organization Chart