Faculty News

Academy Celebrates Excellence in Teaching and New Members at Annual Celebration

 |  By Karen Brent
New Members Class of 2019; photo by Elisabeth Fall

New Members Class of 2019; photo by Elisabeth Fall

On Wednesday, September 25, the Haile T. Debas Academy of Medical Educators (Academy of Medical Educators) welcomed new members, acknowledged many of the School of Medicine's outstanding teachers, recognized two members for outstanding Academy service, and honored three cherished staff members who impact our learners on a regular basis and make UCSF such an outstanding healthcare institution.

This year's keynote was H. Carrie Chen, MD, PhDH. Carrie Chen, MD, PhD, who is the Associate Dean of Assessment and Educational Scholarship and Professor of Pediatrics at Georgetown University School of Medicine, and Adjunct Professor of Medicine at the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences. She earned her Bachelor of Arts in biochemistry from the University of California Berkeley and completed her Doctor of Medicine and pediatric residency and chief residency at the University of California San Francisco (UCSF) School of Medicine. She subsequently obtained a Master of Science in Education from the University of Southern California Rossier School of Education and a Doctorate in Health Professions Education from Utrecht University in the Netherlands. She was previously faculty at UCSF where she was a member of UCSF's Academy of Medical Educators (2003-2016) and held the Abraham Rudolph Chair in Pediatric Education.

Dr. Chen has developed curricula and assessment programs and provided leadership for medical student, resident, and fellow education as well as continuing medical education and faculty development. Her research interests include workplace learning, workplace-based assessments including the use of entrustable professional activities (EPAs), and faculty skill development and support. She currently chairs the Subcommittee on Evaluation and Assessment and serves on the Committee on Medical Education, Committee on Medical Student Well-being, the MedStar Health GME Consortium Graduate Medical Education Committee, and the Center for Innovation and Leadership in Education Steering Committee. She oversees MedStar Georgetown’s participation in the International Medical Educators Exchange (IMEX) Program and teaches in the International Course on Entrustable Professional Activities.

Dr. Chen led a special workshop, "Learner Advancement in Health Professions Training: Making Defensible Decisions," which focused on the processes of both arriving at and defending decisions about learner advancement. She discussed how in clinical training, generally and within the framework of Entrustable Professional Activities (EPAs), advancement of learners can be framed as deliberate decisions to entrust learners with increasing responsibilities for patient care. Entrustment includes an evaluation of learner qualities beyond ability (e.g. integrity, reliability, and humility) and of the risk to patients.  As with any system of assessment, all advancement decisions need to be valid and defensible.  This can be facilitated through a robust program of assessment and use of competency committees for advancement decisions.

Full List of New Members and Honorees

Academy Class of 2019

Sara Buckelew, MD, MPH
Department of Pediatrics
Anand Dhruva, MD
Department of Medicine
Christopher Fee, MD
Department of Emergency Medicine
Marla Ferschl, MD
Department of Anesthesia and Perioperative Care
Megha Garg, MD, MPH, FACP
Department of Medicine
Jeannette Lager, MD, MPH
Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Sciences
Matthew Lin, MD
Department of Surgery
Katherine Lupton, MD, FACP
Department of Medicine
Anna Meyer, MD, FACS, FAAP
Department of Otolaryngology - Head & Neck Surgery
Sarah Schaeffer, MD, MPH
Department of Medicine
Andreea Seritan, MD
Department of Psychiatry
Leslie Sheu, MD
Department of Medicine
Geoffrey Stetson, MD
Department of Medicine
Lydia Zablotska, MD, PhD, MPA
Department of Epidemiology & Biostatistics

Jaclyne Witte Boyden Award for Staff

The Boyden Award was established in 2004 to recognize a School of Medicine staff member who has shown exemplary service in support of medical education.

  • Cindy Flores Gaytan, Residency Coordinator, Integrated and Independent Interventional Radiology Programs, Department of Radiology and Biomedical Imaging
  • Twinkle Patel, Administrative Director, Division of Education, Department of Pediatrics
Award for Exceptional Service in Medical Education

The Award for Exceptional Service in Medical Education established in 2018 this honors and recognizes exemplary service by Office of Medical Education (OME) staff who support medical education.

Valerie Margol, MA, Associate Director, UCSF Post Baccalaureate Program and Outreach, Office of Medical Education, School of Medicine

Excellence in Teaching Awards

The Excellence in Teaching Awards were established in 2005. These are peer-nominated awards for UCSF teaching faculty, intended to highlight outstanding front-line teachers of medical students, residents, and fellows at all UCSF teaching sites who might otherwise go unrecognized.

Excellence in Teaching Awards- full list of 2019 recipients (PDF)

Academy Service Award

The Academy Service Award is given to members of the Academy for outstanding service.

  • Stacy Sawtelle Vohra, MD, Department of Emergency Medicine, School of Medicine
  • JoAnne Saxe, RN, DNP, FAAN, Community Health Systems, School of Nursing