Faculty News

Announcing the Academy's Class of 2022

 |  By Karen Brent
Lei Choi, MD, MPH
Dr. Lei Choi, is one of many outstanding UCSF educators representing this year's class

Lei Choi, MD, MPH

The Haile T. Debas Academy of Medical Educators (AME) is pleased to announce the Academy Class of 2022. Congratulations to our new members!

  • Celeste Allen, MD, Department of Pediatrics
  • Adnan Alseidi, MD, EdM, Department of Surgery
  • Rebecca Berman, MD, Department of Medicine
  • Steve Braunstein, MD, PhD, Department of Radiation Oncology
  • Danielle Campagne, MD, Department of Emergency Medicine
  • David Chia, MD, MSc, Department of Medicine
  • Lei Choi, MD, MPH, Department of Medicine
  • Nancy Choi, MD, Department of Medicine
  • Carmen Cobb, MD, Departments of Medicine and Pediatrics
  • Eddie Cruz-Romero, MD, MPH, Department of Pediatrics
  • Mansi Desai, MD, Department of Pediatrics
  • Valerie Gribben, MD, Department of Pediatrics
  • Beth Griffiths, MD, MPH, Department of Medicine
  • Katherine Gruenberg, PharmD, MAEd , Department of Clinical Pharmacy
  • Marianne Juarez, MD, Department of Emergency Medicine
  • Efrat Lelkes, MD, Department of Pediatrics
  • Sara Lewin, MD, Department of Medicine
  • Katerina Melino, MS, PMHNP-BC, Department of Community Health Systems
  • Jillian Mongelluzzo, MD, MAEd, Department of Emergency Medicine
  • Bridget O'Brien, PhD, Department of Medicine
  • Meghan O'Brien, MD, MBE, Department of Medicine Neeti
  • Parikh, MD, Department of Ophthalmology
  • Edgar Pierluissi, MD, Department of Medicine
  • Mike Reid, MD, MPH, MA, Departments of Medicine and Epidemiology and Biostatistics
  • Laura H. Rubinos, MD, Department of Pediatrics
  • Naomi Ellen Stotland, MD, Departments of Obstetrics, Gynecology, and Reproductive Sciences and Family Health Care Nursing
  • Steven Tringali, DO, Department of Medicine
  • Rupa Lalchandani Tuan, PhD, Department of Cellular and Molecular Pharmacology
  • Dina Wallin, MD, Departments of Emergency Medicine and Pediatrics
  • VyVy N. Young, MD, FACS, Department of Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery
  • April Zaat, MD, Department of Pediatrics
  • Carly Zapata, MD, MPH, Department of Medicine

Please join us for our 22nd Annual Celebration of New Members

Wednesday, September 21, 2022
3:00 - 5:00 pm
Sandler Neurosciences Center Auditorium at Mission Bay and via Zoom

Keynote Address by Tricia Rose, PhD
Dr. Rose is Chancellor’s Professor of Africana Studies, Associate Dean of the Faculty for Special Initiatives, and the Director of the Center for the Study of Race and Ethnicity in America at Brown University.

Our program also includes faculty and staff awards:

  • AME Excellence in Teaching Award
  • AME/Program for Interprofessional Practice and Education (PIPE) Excellence in Interprofessional Teaching Award for UCSF Teaching Faculty
  • Boyden Staff Award
  • Award for Exceptional Service in Medical Education

Register for the 2022 Celebration of New Members