Distinguished Teaching Awards

The Center for Faculty Educators (CFE) hosts an annual ceremony for UCSF School of Medicine teaching awards, acknowledging:

Volunteer Clinical Faculty (VCF) play a significant role in advancing UCSF's mission to transform health care. The Special Recognition Teaching Awards are presented to members of the volunteer clinical faculty that have made significant contributions through excellence in teaching and in the field of medicine.

2017 Recipients

  • Charlotte Baer Memorial Award
    • John F. Brown, MD, MPA, Department of Emergency Medicine
  • Special Recognition Awards
    • Douglas Corley, MD, Department of Medicine; Kevin Hiler, MD, Department of Surgery; Richard Oken, MD, Department of Pediatrics; and Lisa Tang, MD, Department of Family and Community Medicine
  • Bridges Curriculum - Foundations 1 Teaching Awards
    • Outstanding Lecture Series: Peter Chin-Hong, MD, Department of Medicine
    • Outstanding Lecture: Jennifer Cocohoba, PharmD, Department of Clinical Pharmacy
    • Inspirational Teaching: Igor Mitrovic, MD, Department of Physiology
    • Excellence in Small Group Instruction by Student Instructor: Jackie DesJardin, MD, Class of 2017
    • Excellence in Small Group Instruction by Faculty Member: Lisa Winston, MD, Department of Medicine
    • Excellence in Innovative Teaching Modalities: Gabriel Mannis, MD, Department of Medicine
    • Committment to Teaching: Jesse Nussbaum, MD, Department of Medicine Medicine
  • Henry J. Kaiser Awards for Excellence in Teaching
    • Excellence in Teaching in the Fresno Medical Education Program: Lawrence Sue, MD, FACS Department of Surgery (Fresno)
    • Excellence in Teaching in an Inpatient Care Setting: Cynthia Fenton, MD, Department of Medicine
    • Excellence in Teaching in a Classroom Setting: Mary (Mimi) Margaretten, MD, Department of Medicine
    • Excellence in Teaching in an Ambulatory Care Setting: Emma Samelson-Jones, MD, Department of Psychiatry
  • Maxine Papadakis Awards for Faculty Professionalism and Respect
    • Dorre Nicholau, MD, PhD, Department of Anesthesia and Perioperative Care
    • Stephanie Rennke, MD, Department of Medicine
    • Jessica Opoku-Anane, MD, MS, Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Sciences
    • Patrick Newman, MD, MSP Physician, Deparment of Pediatrics
    • David Elkin, MD, MSL, Department of Psychiatry
    • John MacKenzie, MD, Department of Radiology and Biomedical Imaging

The 2017-2018 Teaching Awards Ceremony is on October 30, 2018, in N-225, School of Nursing at the Parnassus Campus.


For more information, email Ivan Mendez.

Download Files
2017 Awards Ceremony Program