Recognition Awards for Volunteer Clinical Faculty

Charlotte Baer, MD
Charlotte Baer, MD (1908-1973)

Charlotte Baer Memorial Award

The Charlotte Baer Memorial Award is presented annually to a member of the volunteer clinical faculty of the School of Medicine in recognition of distinguished service. This award is named in honor of Dr. Charlotte Baer, who was a practicing internist in San Francisco and a member of the volunteer clinical faculty for almost 30 years. She was an outstanding clinician with exceptional humanistic qualities who served as a role model and teacher to hundreds of our students and residents.


2017 Recipient

Dr. Brown
John Brown, MD and Michelle Li, MD; photo by Elisabeth Fall

John F. Brown, MD, MPA, Department of Emergency Medicine

Special Recognition Teaching Awards Recipients

Presented to members of the volunteer clinical faculty who have made contributions through excellence in teaching, and significant contributions in the field of medicine, this award is to recognize a variety of instructors from individual departments that rotate yearly.

2017 Recipients

  • Douglas Corley, MD, PhD, Department of Medicine
  • Kevin Hiler, MD, Department of Surgery
  • Richard L. Oken, MD, Department of Pediatrics
  • Lisa Tang, MD, Department of Family and Community Medicine Volunteer

Volunteer Clinical Faculty (VCF) Advisory Board Selection Committee
Naveena BOBBA • James L. CHEN • Roger FRIEDENTHAL • Charlene HSU-WINGES • Michelle LI (Chair) • Brian LIN • Seth MATARASSO • Lindsay MAZOTTI • Walter MILLS • Michael SCHRADER • Kevin H. SOUZA

Download Files
Biography of Charlotte Baer, MD
Charlotte Baer Award Recipients (1979-2017)