Excellence in Teaching Awards

Teacher with students
Photo by Elisabeth Fall

The Excellence in Teaching Awards are peer-nominated and intended to highlight outstanding front-line teachers of medical students, residents, and fellows.



2018 Cycle: May 31 - July 9, 2018

Submit nominations online by Monday, July 9 at http://tiny.ucsf.edu/eta2018

Eligibility Requirements

  • Faculty teachers of UCSF School of Medicine students, residents, and fellows, including volunteer faculty and instructor from other schools (Dentistry, Pharmacy, and Nursing) that teach School of Medicine learners.
  • All faculty members at all UCSF teaching sites and affiliated sites including East Bay, Kaiser, Mission Bay, Mount Zion, Parnassus, UCSF Benioff Children's Hospitals (Oakland and San Francisco), UCSF Fresno, VAMC, and ZSFG.
  • Nominees are eligible from all UCSF teaching sites and affiliated sites who might otherwise go unrecognized. These teachers are "unsung heroes" who demonstrate daily their dedication to education and teach in a manner that creates an encouraging and intellectually stimulating environment, which promotes critical thinking and learning

Eligible Nominators are UCSF faculty members who are among the following:

  • Appointed Department Education Leadership (e.g. Vice Chairs for Education or other education-specific appointments)
  • Members of the Academy of Medical Educators
  • Residency Program Directors
  • Clerkship Directors
  • Course Directors and Course Co-Directors
  • Associate and Site Directors
  • Course Element Leaders (Foundations 1): which include the Foundational Science (FS) and Inquiry Immersion blocks, the longitudinal Core Inquiry Curriculum, and Clinical Microsystem Clerkship (CMC)
  • School of Medicine Coaches

Ineligible nominations:

  • Excludes - Recipients in the past three years (2015-2017 recipients are not eligible)
  • Excludes - Members of the Academy of Medical Educators

Submission Guidelines:

  • Nominations due online by Monday, July 9, 2018 at http://tiny.ucsf.edu/eta2018
  • Each nominee requires two faculty nominators
  • Nominee may be from within or outside of the nominator's department
  • Faculty who submit one primary nomination are allowed to be a secondary nominator for one additional nominee
  • The two nominators must submit a single nomination form attesting to the nominee's teaching qualities and characteristics, which is submitted to the recipient and department Chair.
    • 250 word or 1800 character maximum for each statement of support.
    • In your nomination, we suggest including direct quotes from learners and specific examples of teaching scenarios. Strive for as much specificity and objective evidence as possible, and provide any of the following: numbers of learners reached, duration of teaching, objective evaluation data if available (e.g. MedHub).
    • We request that nominators refrain from submitting mere lists of accomplishments or activities.
  • Submission online only

The Academy's Excellence in Teaching Awards Action Group reviews all nominations and determines the recipients. Recipients receive a certificate and letter copied to their department chair.

Questions? Please contact Karen Brent at [email protected].

Download Files
Recipients List 2005-2017

Recipients from the past three years are not eligible for the 2018 award (2015-2017). Please make sure your nominees have not won in the past three years.

Academy Membership List

Current member roster by department.

Nomination Samples

A few sample nominations to give you and idea of what we are looking for in your nomination.