Excellence in Teaching Awards

These two peer-nominated awards are intended to highlight outstanding frontline teachers of learners at all UCSF teaching sites who might otherwise go unrecognized.

2021 Recipients will be recognized at the Academy's Celebration of New Members, Wednesday, September 29, 2021

Excellence in Teaching Award

These teachers are "unsung heroes" who demonstrate daily their dedication to education and teach in a manner that creates an encouraging, intellectually stimulating environment that promotes critical thinking and learning. 

2020 Recipients
Nominee Full Name Nominee Department:
Ashish Agrawal, MD Anesthesia and Perioperative Care
Celeste Allen, MD Pediatrics
Maithri Ameresekere, MD Psychiatry
Nancy Anaya, MD Emergency Medicine
Chris Bautista, MD Medicine
Brian Berger, MD, MPA Emergency Medicine
Julie Brichard, MD Family and Community Medicine
Thianchai Bunnalai, MD Pediatrics
Carol Chen, MD Emergency Medicine
Emilia DeMarchis, MD Family and Community Medicine
Neeti Doshi, MD, MPH Pediatrics
Maude Dull, MD Pediatrics
Tammy Duong, MD Psychiatry
Odi Ehie, MD Anesthesia and Perioperative Care
Paul Fitzgerald, MD Medicine
Ariel Franks, MD Family and Community Medicine
Nicholas Frost, MD, PhD Neurology
Kavita Gandhi, MD Emergency Medicine
Seema Gandhi, MD Anesthesia and Perioperative Care
Margaret Gilbreth, MD Pediatrics
Anna Haemel, MD Dermatology
George Harrison, MD Psychiatry
Natalie Hastings, DMD Preventive and Restorative Dental Sciences
Kenzo Hirose, MD Surgery
Iris Huang, MD Medicine
Kensho Iwanaga, MD, MS Pediatrics
Paul Kim, MD Pediatrics
Roneesha Star Knight Emergency Medicine
Elizabeth Kwan, MD Emergency Medicine
Ronald Labuguen, MD Family and Community Medicine
Susan Lambe, MD Emergency Medicine
Benn Lancman, MBBS Anesthesia and Perioperative Care
Erica Lawson, MD Pediatrics
Sara Lewin, MD Medicine
Carmen Liang, DO, MPH Family and Community Medicine
Andres Marin, MD Family and Community Medicine 
Amy McNelis, MD Pediatrics
Biftu Mengesha, MD, MAS Ob-Gyn and Reproductive Sciences
Claudia Diaz Mooney, MD Family and Community Medicine
Patrick Newman, MD Pediatrics
Meghan O'Brien, MD, MBE Medicine
Nandini Palaniappa, MD Anesthesia and Perioperative Care
Margaret Park, MD Medicine
Christopher "Toff" Peabody, MD, MPH Emergency Medicine
Andrew Penn, RN, MS, NP Community Health Services
Archana Petkar, MD Family and Community Medicine
Ann Petru, MD Pediatrics
Binh An Phan, MD Medicine
Mukund Premkumar, MD Family and Community Medicine
Radhika Ramanan, MD, MPH Medicine
Marissa Raymond-Flesch, MD, MPH Pediatrics
Raquel Rodriguez Martinez, MD, MPP Family and Community Medicine
Laura Rubinos, MD Pediatrics
Harini Sarathy, MBBS, MHS Medicine
Nika Seidman, MD  Ob-Gyn & Reproductive Sciences
Maulik Shah, MD, MHS Neurology
Eric Silverman, MD Emergency Medicine
Sohil Sud, MD Pediatrics
Shareef Syed, MD Surgery
Sonny Tat, MD Emergency Medicine & Pediatrics
Andrea Tenner, MD, MPH Emergency Medicine
Neeta Thakur, MD Medicine
Amanda Twigg, MD Dermatology
Stanley Vance, MD Pediatrics
Sofia Verstraete, MD Pediatrics
Rachel Wattier, MD, MHS Pediatrics
Leslie Wong, MD Surgery
Raymond Zablotny, MD Psychiatry

Excellence in Interprofessional Teaching Award

Interprofessional teachers work with learners from two or more professions (e.g. nursing and medicine or dentistry and pharmacy) with the goal of providing learners with the knowledge and skills to effectively collaborate in healthcare settings.

2020 Recipients
Recipient School 
Kristi Chambers, RN, MS, CNS Nursing
Pei Chen, MD Medicine
Zlatan Coralic, PharmD Pharmacy
Cathi Dennehy, PharmD, FCSHP Pharmacy
Antonio Gomez, MD Medicine
 Katherine Gruenberg, Pharm. D., MAEd, BCPS Pharmacy
 Janet Huang, PharmD Pharmacy
 Todd James, MD Medicine
 Kai Kennedy PT, DPT Medicine
 Lisa Mihaly, RN, MS, FNP Nursing
 Scott Steiger, MD Medicine
 Anna Strewler, MS, AGPCNP-BC Nursing

Additional Information


Who is eligible?
All faculty teachers of UCSF learners, trainees, students, residents, and fellows

  • UCSF Volunteer Clinical Professors
  • Faculty from All UCSF Schools
  • Teachers from any UCSF teaching sites and affiliated sites including East Bay sites, Kaiser, Mission Bay, Mount Zion, Parnassus, UCSF Benioff Children's Hospitals (Oakland and San Francisco), UCSF Fresno, SFVAMC, and ZSFG.
  • (NOTE: for Excellence in Interprofessional Teaching award, teachers must work with learners from two or more professions to promote learning with, from and about each other)

Ineligible Nominees

Submission Information

Who can nominate?

  • UCSF faculty members who are among the following:
  • Members of the Academy of Medical Educators
  • Department or Division Leadership (e.g. Vice Chairs for Education or another appointment)
  • Residency Program Directors
  • Specialty Coordinators
  • Clerkship Directors
  • Course Directors/Faculty of Record
  • Associate and Site Directors
  • Course Element Leaders (Foundations 1): which include the Foundational Science (FS) and Inquiry Immersion blocks, the longitudinal Core Inquiry Curriculum, and Clinical Microsystem Clerkship (CMC)
  • SOM Coaches

Essential elements of the narrative portion of the nomination:

  • Attests to the nominee's teaching qualities and characteristics
  • Describe the nominee's commitment to UCSF's PRIDE Values and Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
  • Excellence in Interprofessional Teaching Award only: Attests to the nominee’s abilities to teach interprofessional students (e.g. nursing and medicine or dentistry and pharmacy) curriculum that supports and aligns with interprofessional core competencies.

Submission Guidelines:

  • Each nomination requires two faculty nominators
  • The nominee can be within or outside your department/school
  • Faculty can submit one primary nomination and one secondary nomination for either award
  • The narrative is capped at 3500 characters
Selection and Notification Process

Review Process

  • Academy Excellence in Teaching Action Group
  • PIPE Professional Development Committee

Notification and Recognition Information

  • Recipients and Nominators are notified in August
  • Recipients receive a certificate and letter copied to their department or division chair
  • Recipients recognized at the Academy's Celebration of New Members, Thursday, September 17, 2020

Questions? Please contact Karen Brent at karen.brent@ucsf.edu.