Recognition Awards for Volunteer Clinical Professors

Charlotte Baer Memorial Award
Left to Right: Brian Lin, MD, Chair of VCP Advisory Board; Laurence Yee, MD, recipient of Charlotte Baer Memorial Award 2019; and Catherine Lucey, MD, Executive Vice Dean for Education. Photo by Elisabeth Fall

Charlotte Baer Memorial Award

Charlotte Baer, MD
Charlotte Baer, MD (1908-1973)

The Charlotte Baer Memorial Award is presented annually to a volunteer clinical professor of the School of Medicine in recognition of distinguished service. This award is named in honor of Dr. Charlotte Baer, who was a practicing internist in San Francisco and a volunteer clinical professor for almost 30 years. She was an outstanding clinician with exceptional humanistic qualities who served as a role model and teacher to hundreds of our students and residents.

2019 Recipient

Laurence F. Yee, MD, Department of Surgery

Special Recognition Teaching Awards Recipients

Presented to volunteer clinical professors who have made contributions through excellence in teaching, and significant contributions in the field of medicine. This award is to recognize a variety of instructors from individual departments that rotate yearly.

2019 Recipients

  • Donald German, MD, Department of Pediatrics
  • Robert A. Hardy, MD, Department of Ophthalmology
  • Margaret McCusker, MD, MS, Department of Epidemiology & Biostatistics
  • Tali A. Ziv, MD, Department of Medicine

Selected by the Volunteer Clinical Faculty (VCF) Advisory Board Selection Committee


Download Files
Charlotte Baer, MD Biography
Past Charlotte Baer Award Recipients