Academy Service Award

Peter Chin-Hong, MD was recognized withe the Service Award
Peter Chin-Hong, MD. Photo by Elisabeth Fall

At its Celebration of New Members, the Academy honors a member for outstanding service and contributions in support of Academy activities.

Previous Honorees:

2020: Descartes Li, MD and Kanade Shinkai, MD, PhD
2019: Stacy Sawtelle Vohra, MD and Joanne Saxe, RN, DNP, FAAN
2018: Peter Chin-Hong, MD and Sophia Saeed, DMD
2017: David Duong, MD, MS
2016: Josette Rivera, MD and Kim Topp, PT, PhD
2015: Brian Schwartz, MD and Kanade Shinkai, MD, PhD
2014: Serena Yang, MD, MPH
2012: Anda Kuo, MD
2010: Katherine Hyland, PhD
2009: Tracy Fulton, PhD
2008: Colin Partridge, MD, MPH
2007: Lowell Tong, MD
2006: Kim Topp, PhD
2005: Leslie Zimmerman, MD
2004: Tim Kelly, MD and Manny Pardo, MD
2003: Jessica Muller, PhD

Other AME Service Awards

The Siu Award (2008)

Howard and Lettie Siu created the Siu Award to honor Richard Haber, MD, an exceptional teacher and member of the first class of the Academy of Medical Educators. Haber passed away in 2007 and the Sius chose to recognize his legacy at the Celebration of New Members in 2008. Throughout his long career at UCSF, he was universally regarded as a master teacher and clinician. A remarkable mentor to UCSF students and residents, he exemplified through his passion and enthusiasm the joy of medicine and the fulfillment of giving.

The Siu Award was presented to two UCSF faculty members in primary care who best exemplify to our medical students Haber's answer to achieving quality of life. The recipients, Elizabeth Harleman, MD, and Anda Kuo, MD, were recognized on September 15, 2008.