Your Student Experience Team

School of Medicine Student Experience Team 

Thriving in medical school, navigating career choices, and transitioning into residency training presents new opportunities and potential challenges.  At UCSF, the Student Experience Team (SET) supports you during these transitions and helps you on your way to becoming a 21st Century Physician.

The Student Experience Team works closely with your education deans to provide the resources and support necessary for your success, and ultimately the success of your patients and our community.

OUR SET TEAM

LEADERSHIP

Kewchang Lee
Kewchang Lee, MD
Interim Co-Director, Student Support
Professor of Psychiatry

Provides student advising and support to lead key student support initiatives.

Kewchang.Lee@ucsf.edu

Margo Vener
Margo Vener, MD, MPH
Interim Co-Director, Student Support
Professor of Family Community Medicine

Provides student advising and support to lead key student support initiatives.

Margo.Vener@ucsf.edu

 

CAREER ADVISORS

Brent Kobashi
Brent Kobashi, MD

Faculty Co-Director of Career Advising,
Associate Clinical Professor in the Division of General Internal Medicine at UCSF

  • Bridges Curriculum Coach 
  • Leads improvements to the career advising programs for medical students
  • Evaluates and implements best practices in career development and match advising
  • Develops and oversees the specialty advisor program
  • Provides faculty mentoring and support for coaches and career advisors

Brent.Kobashi@ucsf.edu

Heather Whelan
Heather Whelan, MD
Faculty Co-Director of Career Advising,
Associate Clinical Professor in the Section of Hospital Medicine at the SFVA Medical Center/UCSF

  • Bridges Curriculum Coach 
  • Leads improvements to the career advising programs for medical students
  • Evaluates and implements best practices in career development and match advising
  • Develops and oversees the specialty advisor program
  • Provides faculty mentoring and support for coaches and career advisors

Heather.Whelan@ucsf.edu

 

STAFF

DoQuyen Tran-TaylorDoQuyen Tran-Taylor
Director, Medical Student Experience

Evolve Benton
Evolve Benton, MA, MFA

Equity and Inclusion Program Manager

  • Evaluates and implements diversity, equity and inclusion programs
  • Leads advising for underrepresented student organizations
  • Develops diversity, equity and inclusion best practices
  • Develops Difference Matter Orientation

Evolve.Benton@ucsf.edu

Dennis Chan
Dennis Chan

Student Resources Coordinator

  • Manages the operation of the Medical Student Center
  • Develops and distributes the weekly Student Digest e-newsletter
  • Directs students to resources around campus

Dennis.Chan@ucsf.edu

Xavier Macy
Xavier Macy
Foundations 1 Academic Advisor

  • Helps students prepare for and manage the Foundations 1 component of the Bridges Curriculum.
  • Provides individual academic advising and resources to the students.
  • Develops and manages the student orientation.
  • Manages student tutoring programs.

Xavier.Macy@ucsf.edu

Nikki Williams
Nikki Williams
Foundations 2 Academic Advisor 

  • Helps students prepare for the Foundations 2 component of the Bridges Curriculum
  • Provides individual academic advising to students
  • Manages the programs and services that support students through their Step 1 Board Exams

Nikki.Williams@ucsf.edu

Wenia Lee
Wenia Lee
Career Launch Advisor

  • Assists during your final 18 months for scheduling career-launch courses, such as sub-internships, and will ensure you’re on track to graduate on-time.
  • Helps navigate the administrative process to take a gap year between your 3rd and 4th year to complete an additional degree or to conduct research.
  • Helps decide when to take Step 2 Clinical Knowledge and Clinical Science board exams and managing the residency application process.

Wenia.Lee@ucsf.edu

Valerie Jones
Valerie A. Jones
Operations & Student Visitor Program Manager

  • Manages operations of the Student Experience Team
  • Executive Assistant to Associate Dean of Student, helping to support student meeting scheduling
  • Manages the Student Visitor Program for incoming visiting students.
  • Supports students applying for away rotations in their 4th year.

Valerie.Jones2@ucsf.edu

 

MEDICAL STUDENT WELL-BEING PROGRAM

Howard Rubin
Howard Rubin, MD

Director, Medical Student Wellbeing, Psychiatrist  

Supports physicians-in-training to develop their personal wellness plans during medical school.

Howard.Rubin@ucsf.edu
(415) 476-0468

Vittorio Comelli
Vittorio Comelli, PsyD

Assistant Director of Medical Student Wellbeing,
Psychologist 

Clinical psychologist providing mental health services and wellness focused support for physicians in training during medical school.

Vittorio.Comelli@ucsf.edu
(415) 476-0468

 

DISABILITY SERVICES

Timothy Montgomery
Timothy Montgomery
Director, Student Disability Services

Coordinates the support services offered to medical students with disabilities.

Timothy.Montgomery@ucsf.edu

Clayton Littrell
Clayton Littrell
Associate Director, Student Disability Services 

Coordinates the support services offered to medical students with disabilities. 

Clayton.Littrell@ucsf.edu

 

SUPPORT

Susan Whitlow
Susan Whitlow
Learning Resources Specialist  

Provides strategies to help enhance students' study skills, test performance, and mastery of material.

susan.whitlow@ucsf.edu

Franchesca Torres Janusko
Franchesca Torres
Student Records Analyst 

  • Oversees DocuSign forms
  • Manages changes in AAMC and NBME
  • Manages APeX accounts for all students
  • Certifies Candidates for Certificates and Degrees
  • Responsible for completing all state licensing, verification of education

Franchesca.Torres@ucsf.edu