Your Student Experience Team

School of Medicine Student Experience Team 

Thriving in medical school, navigating career choices, and transitioning into residency training presents new opportunities and potential challenges.  At UCSF, the Student Experience Team (SET) supports you during these transitions and helps you on your way to becoming a 21st Century Physician.

The Student Experience Team works closely with your education deans to provide the resources and support necessary for your success, and ultimately the success of your patients and our community.

Our Team

LEADERSHIP

Lee Jones, MD
Lee Jones, MD, Lee.Jones@ucsf.edu, Associate Dean for Students
(To schedule an appointment with Dean Jones, please contact Valerie Jones, Valerie.Jones2@ucsf.edu)

  • Oversees the medical student experience and can assist with issues related to student activities, support, career planning, and professional development

 

taylor

DoQuyen Tran-Taylor, DoQuyen.Tran-Taylor@ucsf.edu, Director, Medical Student Experience

  • Directs initiatives for medical students’ advising and career development and academic assistance


FACULTY ADVISORS

brent kobashi, MD

Brent Kobashi, MD, Brent.Kobashi@ucsf.edu, Faculty Co-Director of Career Advising, Associate Clinical Professor in the Division of General Internal Medicine at UCSF,  Bridges Curriculum Coach 

  • Leads improvements to the career advising programs for medical students
  • Evaluates and implements best practices in career development and match advising
  • Develops and oversees the specialty advisor program
  • Provides faculty mentoring and support for coaches and career advisors

 

Heather Whelan, MD

Heather Whelan, MD, Heather.Whelan@ucsf.edu, Faculty Co-Director of Career Advising, Associate Clinical Professor in the Section of Hospital Medicine at the San Francisco VA Medical Center/UCSF, Bridges Curriculum Coach 

  • Leads improvements to the career advising programs for medical students
  • Evaluates and implements best practices in career development and match advising
  • Develops and oversees the specialty advisor program
  • Provides faculty mentoring and support for coaches and career advisors

 

STAFF

dennis chan

Dennis Chan, Dennis.Chan@ucsf.edu, Student Resources Coordinator

  • Manages the operation of the Medical Student Center
  • Develops and distributes the weekly Student Digest e-newsletter
  • Directs students to resources around campus

 

vittorio

Vittorio Comelli, PsyD, Vittorio.Comelli@ucsf.edu, Assistant Director of Medical Student Wellbeing, Psychologist 

  • Clinical psychologist providing mental health services and wellness focused support for physicians in training during medical school

 

Evolve Benton

Evolve Benton, MA, MFA Evolve.Benton@ucsf.edu,  Equity and Inclusion Program Manager

  • Evaluates and implements diversity, equity and inclusion programs
  • Leads advising for underrepresented student organizations
  • Develops diversity, equity and inclusion best practices
  • Develops Difference Matter Orientation

 

clay littrel

Clayton Littrell, Clayton.Littrell@ucsf.edu, Associate Director, Student Disability Services 

  • Coordinates the support services offered to medical students with disabilities  

 

tim montgomery

Timothy Montgomery, Timothy.Montgomery@ucsf.edu, Director, Student Disability Services

  • Coordinates the support services offered to medical students with disabilities  

 

howard rubin

Howard Rubin, MD, Howard.Rubin@ucsf.edu, Director, Medical Student Wellbeing, Psychiatrist  

  • Supports physicians-in-training to develop their personal wellness plans during medical school

 

franchesca torres

Franchesca Torres, Franchesca.Torres@ucsf.edu, Student Records Analyst 

  • Oversees DocuSign forms
  • Manages changes in AAMC and NBME
  • Manages APeX accounts for all students
  • Certifies Candidates for Certificates and Degrees
  • Responsible for completing all state licensing, verification of education

 

susan whitlow

Susan Whitlow, susan.whitlow@ucsf.edu, Learning Resources Specialist  

  • Provides strategies to help enhance students' study skills, test performance, and mastery of material

 

Xavier Macy

Xavier Macy, Xavier.Macy@ucsf.edu, Foundations 1 Academic Advisor

  • Helps students prepare for and manage the Foundations 1 component of the Bridges Curriculum.
  • Provides individual academic advising and resources to the students.
  • Develops and manages the student orientation.
  • Manages student tutoring programs.

 

Nikki

Nikki Williams, Nikki.Williams@ucsf.edu, Foundations 2 Academic Advisor 

  • Helps students prepare for the Foundations 2 component of the Bridges Curriculum
  • Provides individual academic advising to students
  • Manages the programs and services that support students through their Step 1 Board Exams

 

Wenia Lee

Wenia Lee, Wenia.Lee@ucsf.edu, Career Launch Advisor

  • Assists during your final 18 months for scheduling career-launch courses, such as sub-internships, and will ensure you’re on track to graduate on-time.
  • Helps navigate the administrative process to take a gap year between your 3rd and 4th year to complete an additional degree or to conduct research.
  • Helps decide when to take Step 2 Clinical Knowledge and Clinical Science board exams and managing the residency application process.

 

Valerie Jones

Valerie Jones, Valerie.Jones2@ucsf.edu, Operations and Student Visitor Program Manager

  • Manages operations of the Student Experience Team
  • Executive Assistant to Associate Dean of Student, Dr. Lee Jones, helping to support student meeting scheduling
  • Manages the Student Visitor Program for incoming visiting students.
  • Supports students applying for away rotations in their 4th year.