Background image

Medical Education
Center for Faculty Educators

Academy Celebration of New Members

Academy class of 2017

Celebration of New Members 2017

On Monday, September 11, the Academy honored its seventeenth class of new members, Boyden Staff awardees, AME Service awardees, and 2017 Excellence in Teaching Award recipients.

Read more about this year's inductees and award recipients - Download the 2017 Program Book (PDF)

New Members for 2017:
  • Nima Afshar, MD, Medicine, SOM
  • Amy Garlin, MD, Medicine, SOM
  • Michelle Guy, MD, Medicine, SOM
  • David Jull-Patterson, PhD, Psychiatry, SOM
  • Ryan Laponis, MD, MSci, Medicine, SOM
  • Ellen Laves, MD, Pediatrics, SOM
  • Erin Mathes, MD, Dermatology, SOM
  • Bradley Monash, MD, Medicine, SOM
  • Alissa Peterson, MD, Psychiatry, SOM
  • Nardine Saad Riegels, MD, Medicine, SOM
  • Larissa Thomas, MD, MPH, Medicine, SOM
  • Pinelopi Xenoudi, DDS, MS, Orofacial Sciences, SOD
  • Tali Ziv, MD, Medicine, SOM
Boyden Staff Award
  • Kimberley Chan
    Residency Program Coordinator
    Department of Medicine

  • Laura Pliska
    Administrative Director, GME
    Assistant Director, Residency Program
    Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Sciences

Excellence in Teaching Awards (Full List of Recipients)

Keynote Speaker: Aviad Haramati, PhD

Aviad Haramati, PhD, is a Professor of Integrative Physiology, in the Department of Biochemistry, Molecular & Cellular Biology and the Department of Medicine at Georgetown University School of Medicine

View and download Dr. Haramati's keynote slides (PDF) - September 11, 2017

View and download slides from An Experiential Introduction to Mind-Body Medicine workshop held on September 12, 2017

Physician burnout is pervasive and a cause for concern. Approximately half of all physicians experience burnout, which can lead to changes in the patient-provider relationship and adversely influence the quality of care. Many groups are developing interventions with medical students, residents, and faculty to address the rise in burnout and decline in professional resiliency. This workshop introduced participants to several mind-body medicine skills.



For information about applying to the Academy email Kathleen Land.
For more information about the members of The Haile T. Debas Academy of Medical Educators, please click here.

For more information about the awards and past honorees, please click here.