Background image

Medical Education
Center for Faculty Educators

Awards and Recognition

The Academy administers several awards intended to honor, support and reward faculty and staff for their efforts on behalf of medical education.

David Duong, Shelle Libberton, and Ann Poncelet pictured

  • The Boyden Award was established in 2004 to recognize a School of Medicine staff member who has shown exemplary service in support of medical education.
  • The Cooke Award was established in 2007 with funds awarded to Molly Cooke, MD upon her receipt of the AAMC's AOA Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award. It is presented at Education Showcse to the authors of the most outstanding curriculum development and research projects.
  • The Excellence in Teaching Awards were established in 2005. These are peer-nominated awards for UCSF teaching faculty, intended to highlight outstanding front-line teachers of medical students, residents, and fellows at all UCSF teaching sites who might otherwise go unrecognized.
  • The Kim Award was established in 2002 by Edward Kim, MD, UCSF SOM alumnus, to promote the well-being, rejuvenation and work-life balance of an Academy member.
  • The Service Award is given for outstanding service to the Academy.
  • The Siu Award was created by Howard and Lettie Siu in honor of Richard Haber, MD, and presented in September, 2008 to two Academy members who best exemplify his passion for medicine and generosity of spirit.