Academy Committees and Organization


Demian Rose, MD, PhD; Erick Hung, MD; and Anna Chang, MD

The Academy structure involves the following groups that are charged with specific Academy functions and goals:

Leadership Council

This group’s main charge focuses on reviewing, developing, and informing Academy leadership on policies, procedures and ensuring that those policies and procedures are aligned with the Academy’s mission and vision.

  • Ann Poncelet, MD, Chair, Academy Director, Professor of Neurology
  • Raquel Rodriguez-Piscitello, MBA, Staff
  • Madhavi Dandu, MD, MPH, Scholarship Chair
  • Michelle Guy, MD, Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Anti-racism/Anti-oppression Chair
  • Anda Kuo, MD, Advocacy and  Communications Champion
  • Kewchang Lee, MD, At-Large
  • Michele Long, MD, Innovations Funding Co-Chair
  • Andrea Marmor, MD, At-Large
  • Meg McNamara, MD, Excellence in Teaching Awards Committee Chair
  • Sirisha Narayana, MD, Innovations Funding Co-Chair
  • Sanziana Roman, MD, FACS, At-Large
  • Demian Rose, MD, PhD, Boyden Committee Chair
  • Brian Schwartz, MD, Membership Chair
  • Emma Webb, MD, At-Large
  • Pinelopi Xenoudi, DDS, MS
Boyden Award Committee

The Boyden Committee manages the selection and recognition of the Academy's awards for excellence in service to education by UCSF staff in the School of Medicine and Office of Medical Education.

  • Demian Rose, MD, PhD, Chair
  • Karen Brent, Staff
  • Lundy Campbell, MD
  • Jack Chase, MD
  • Katherine Hyland, PhD
  • Ryan Laponis, MD
  • Marieke Kruidering, PhD
  • Ellen Laves, MD
  • Lorri Leard, MD
  • Isabel Lee, MD
  • Andy Murr
  • Stacy Sawtelle Vohra, MD
  • Jaekyu Shin, PharmD
  • Vanessa Thompson, MD
  • Ram Vaderhobli, BDS, MS
  • Dan Wheeler, MD
  • Susan Wlodarczyk, MD
  • Lydia Zablotska, MD, PhD, MPA
Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Anti-racism/Anti-oppression Committee (DEIA)

The Academy's DEIA Committee is charged broadly with: training the AME community in diversity, equity, and inclusion as it pertains to education; partnering effectively with the broader DEIA initiatives in the Center for Faculty Educators, Office of Medical Education, School of Medicine, and UCSF overall leveraging the mission, purpose, values, and strengths of the Academy; and, ensuring a culture of diversity and inclusion within the Academy with transparent and critical review our own diversity and inclusion.

  • Michelle Guy, MD, Chair
  • Karen Brent, Staff
  • Kenny Banh, MD
  • Erica Brode, MD, MPH
  • Denise Connor, MD
  • Amber Fitzsimmons, DPTSc 
  • James Frank, MD 
  • Megha Garg, MD, MPH, FACP
  • Duncan Henry, MD
  • Stephanie Hsia, PharmD
  • Rebecca Jackson, MD 
  • Angel Kuo, RN, MSN, PNP
  • Ben Li, MD
  • Kate Lupton, MD, FACP 
  • Anna Meyer, MD, FACS, FAAP
  • Glenn Rosenbluth, MD
  • Sarah Schaeffer, MD, MPH
  • Arianne Teherani, PhD


Excellence in Teaching Awards Committee

The Excellence in Teaching Awards Committee selects the annual Excellence in Teaching Awards. These are peer-nominated awards for UCSF teaching faculty, intended to highlight outstanding front-line teachers of medical students, residents, and fellows at all UCSF teaching sites who might otherwise go unrecognized.

  • Meg McNamara, MD, Chair
  • Karen Brent, Staff
  • Alexandra Brown, MD
  • Calvin Chou, MD, PhD
  • David Duong, MD, MS
  • Lynn Flint, MD
  • Gerald Hsu, MD, PhD
  • Katherine Julian, MD
  • Edward Kim, MD 
  • Abner Korn, MD
  • Conan MacDougall, PharmD
  • Lynnea Mills, 
  • Alissa Peterson, MD
  • Emma Samelson-Jones, MD
  • Nicole Schroeder, MD
  • Wen Shen, MD, MA
  • William Shyy, MD
  • Nilika Singhal, MD
  • Joseph Sullivan, MD
  • Amanda Twigg, MD
  • Margo Vener, MD
  • Xenoudi, Pinelopi Xenoudi, DDS, MS
  • Josué Zapata, MD, MBA
Innovations Funding Committee

The major task is reviewing new proposals for Innovation Funding, but also devising strategies for better oversight and assessment of the impact of innovations funds.

  • Michele Long, MD, Co-chair
  • Sirisha Narayana, MD, Co-chair
  • Kathleen Land, Staff
  • Manish Aghi, MD, PhD, MAS
  • Benjamin Breyer, MD, MAS
  • Sara Buckelew, MD, MPH
  • Christian Burke
  • Hueylan Chern, MD
  • Valerie Clinard, PharmD, Aph
  • Patricia Cornett, MD
  • Alicia Fernandez, MD
  • Marla Ferschl, MD
  • Audrey Foster-Barber, MD, PhD
  • Monica Hahn, MD, MPH, MS
  • Claire Horton, MD
  • Katherine Julian, MD
  • Margaret Lin-Martore, MD
  • Micquel Little, MLIS, MBA
  • Biftu Mengesha, MD, MAS
  • Bradley Monash, MD
  • Abi Phillips, MD
  • Steven Pletcher, MD
  • Atif Qasim, MD, MSCE, FASE
  • Nardine Riegels, MD
  • Dana Rohde, PhD
  • Andreea Seritan, MD
  • Maria Wamsley, MD
  • Lori Weichenthal, MD
Membership Committee

The committee's primary responsibilities are to conduct the annual selection of Academy members and the membership continuation review process.

  • Brian Schwartz, MD, Chair
  • Kathleen Land, Staff
  • Nima Afshar, MD
  • Loren Alving, MD
  • Kristine Breyer, MD
  • Andre Campbell, MD
  • Anand Dhruva, MD
  • Jacque Duncan, MD
  • Christopher Fee, MD
  • Darren Fiore, MD
  • Tracy Fulton, PhD
  • Sarah Goglin, MD
  • Erick Hung, MD
  • Era Kryzhanovskaya, MD
  • Cindy Lai, MD
  • Descartes Li, MD
  • Jyothi Marbin, MD
  • Erin Mathes, MD
  • Heather Nye, MD, PhD
  • Ann Poncelet, MD
  • Evelyn Porter, MD, MS
  • Gabriel Sarah, MD
  • Miranda Surjadi, RN, MS, ANP-BC
  • Paul Toogood, MD
  • Heather Whelan, MD
  • Sharon Youmans, PharmD, MPH
Scholarship Committee

Responsible for the Academy's annual Education Showcase - where UCSF's faculty, residents, and students have a chance to showcase their projects (past, current, and future).

  • Madhavi Dandu, MD, MPH, Chair
  • Kathleen Land, Staff
  • Christy Boscardin, PhD
  • Sharya Bourdet, PharmD
  • Pei Chen, MD
  • Odie Ehie, MD
  • Archna Eniasivam, MD
  • Shannon Fogh, MD
  • Elizabeth Gatewood, DNP, RN, FNP-C, CNE
  • Elizabeth Joyce, PhD
  • Mindy Ju, MD
  • Priya Kathpalia, MD
  • Jeannette Lager, MD, MPH
  • Matthew Lin, MD
  • Daphne Lo, MD, MEd
  • Mimi Margaretten, MD
  • Marta Margeta, MD, PhD
  • Stephanie Rennke, MD
  • Megan Richie, MD
  • Leticia Rolon, MD
  • Lekshmi Santhosh, MD, MA
  • Justin Sewell, MD, MPH, PhD
  • Rebecca Shunk, MD
  • Kristina Sullivan, MD
  • Sonny Tat, MD, MPH
  • Sara Whetstone, MD, MHS
  • Naomi Wortis, MD
  • Crystal Zhou, PharmD
  • Tali Ziv, MD 
Advocacy and Communications Champions

In partnership with the director and staff, supports and facilitates the Academy's growth and evolution toward a more "outward-facing" organization by engaging across Academy committees and member activities to network, connect, leverage, and communicate important common aspects of Academy work. The champion will nurture and promote Academy outreach and advocacy for educators and the SOM educational mission by galvanizing Academy members' reach into and across departments; promoting engagement with Bridges and other important educational priorities; supporting new Academy initiatives for educators to "belong" to the Academy; and overseeing the Academy teaching awards.

  • Anda Kuo, MD
  • Michael Rabow, MD

Access CFE Newsletter

Purpose-Driven Action Groups

  • Organizational Impact Study Group
  • Editorial Advisory Council
  • Education Technology Interest Group
  • Endowed Chair Individual Impact Study Group
  • Finance Interest Group
  • Holistic Review of Endowed Chair Taskforce
  • Mentoring Action Group

Other Resources