Academy Committees

The Academy structure involves the following groups, charged with specific Academy functions and goals:

Leadership Council

This group’s main charge focuses on reviewing, developing and informing Academy leadership on policies, procedures and ensuring that those policies and procedures are aligned with the Academy’s mission and vision.

  • Ann Poncelet, MD, Chair
    Academy Director, Professor of Neurology
  • Raquel Rodriguez-Piscitello, Staff
  • Denise Connor, MD
    Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Chair
  • Tracy Fulton, PhD
    Membership Chair
  • Gerald Hsu, MD, PhD
  • Anda Kuo, MD
    Advocacy and Communications Champion
  • Ellen Laves, MD
  • Conan MacDougall, PharmD
  • David Naeger, MD
    Innovations Funding Co-chair
  • Jason Satterfield, PhD
    Scholarship Chair
  • Stacy Sawtelle, MD
  • Arianne Teherani, PhD
    Innovations Funding Co-chair
Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee

The Academy Diversity and Inclusion Committee is charged broadly with: training the AME community in diversity, equity, and inclusion as it pertains to education; partnering effectively with the broader diversity initiatives in the Center for Faculty Educators, Office of Medical Education, School of Medicine, and UCSF overall leveraging the mission, purpose, values, and strengths of the Academy; and, ensuring a culture of diversity and inclusion within the Academy with transparent and critical review our own diversity and inclusion.

  • Denise Connor, MD, Chair
  • Karen Brent, Staff
  • Shelley Adler, PhD
  • Alicia Fernandez, MD
  • Amy Garlin, MD
  • Michelle Guy, MD
  • Caitlin Hasser, MD
  • Harry Lampiris, MD
  • Phuoc Le, MD, MPH, DTM+H
  • Catherine Lomen-Hoerth, MD, PhD
  • Carol Miller, MD
  • George Saba, PhD

Access Fall Academy Meeting Video: Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Fall Meeting Resources: presentation materials and literature resources

Innovations Funding Committee

The major task is reviewing new proposals for Innovation Funding, but also devising strategies for better oversight and assessment of impact of innovations funds.

  • David Naeger, MD, Co-chair
  • Arianne Teherani, PhD, Co-chair
  • Kathleen Land, Staff
  • Manish Aghi, MD, PhD, MAS
  • Bobby Baron, MD
  • Christian Burke
  • Patricia Cornett, MD
  • Vanja Douglas, MD
  • Amber Fitzsimmons, PT, MS, DPTSc
  • Claire Horton, MD
  • Sarah Huges, MBE., EdD, MA, BSc
  • Ed Kim, MD
  • Angel Kuo, RN, MSN, PNP
  • Michele Long, MD
  • Bradley Monash, MD
  • Sirisha Narayana, MD
  • Nardine Riegels, MD
  • Josette Rivera, MD
  • Glenn Rosenbluth, MD
  • JoAnne Saxe, RN, DNP, FAAN
  • Maria Wamsley, MD
  • Lori Weichenthal, MD
  • Leslie Zimmerman, MD
Membership Committee

The committee's primary responsibilities are to conduct the annual selection of Academy members and the membership continuation review process.

  • Tracy Fulton, PhD, Chair
  • Kathleen Land, Staff
  • Nima Afshar, MD
  • Andre Campbell, MD
  • Jacque Duncan, MD
  • Darren Fiore, MD
  • Ivan Gomez, MD
  • S. Andrew Josephson, MD
  • Cindy Lai, MD
  • Jyothi Marbin, MD
  • Erin Mathes, MD
  • Meg Pearson, MD
  • Steven Pletcher, MD
  • Ann Poncelet, MD
  • Nicole Schroeder, MD
  • Brian Schwartz, MD
  • Sharon Youmans, PharmD, MPH
Scholarship Committee

Responsible for the Academy's annual Education Showcase - where UCSF's faculty, residents, and students have a chance to showcase their projects (past, current, and future).

  • Jason Satterfield, PhD, Chair
  • Kathleen Land, Staff
  • Boscardin, Christy
  • Bourdet, Sharya
  • Susannah Cornes, MD
  • Madhavi Dandu, MD, MPH
  • Erick Hung, MD
  • Kewchang Lee, MD
  • Raga Ramachandran, MD, PhD
  • Sumant Ranji, MD
  • Stephanie Rennke, MD
  • George Rutherford, MD
  • Justin Sewell, MD, MPH
  • Rebecca Shunk, MD
  • Kristina Sullivan, MD
  • Larissa Thomas, MD
  • Ram Vaderhobli, BDS, MS
  • Daniel West, MD
  • Tali Ziv, MD 
Advocacy and Communications Champions

In partnership with the director and staff, supports and facilitates the Academy's growth and evolution toward a more "outward facing" organization by engaging across Academy committees and member activities to network, connect, leverage and communicate important common aspects of Academy work. The champion will nurture and promote Academy outreach and advocacy for educators and the SOM educational mission by galvanizing Academy members' reach into and across departments; promoting engagement with Bridges and other important educational priorities; supporting new Academy initiatives for educators to "belong" to the Academy; and overseeing the Academy teaching awards.

  • Anda Kuo, MD
  • Michael Rabow, MD

Access CFE Newsletter

Other Resources