Background image

Medical Education
Medical Student Education

2013 Kaiser Awards for Excellence in Teaching Honorees Announced

Since 1969, the School of Medicine has recognized exceptional faculty teachers through the Kaiser Awards for Excellence in Teaching. These teaching awards and nominations are not just a personal honor for those dedicated individuals, but they are also taken into consideration for tenure and promotion decisions. Nominating someone for a Kaiser Teaching Award is a great opportunity for medical students and residents to acknowledge, thank, and even help those teachers who make such a difference in their medical education.

The 2013 Kaiser Award Winners are:

  • Excellence in Teaching By a Volunteer Clinical Faculty: Tali Ziv, MD, Assistant Clinical Professor, Department of Medicine, UCSF
  • Excellence in Teaching In the Ambulatory Care Setting: Michelle Lin, MD, Associate Clinical Professor, Department of Emergency Medicine, UCSF
  • Excellence in Teaching In the Classroom Setting: Andrew D. Leavitt, MD, Professor in Residence, Department of Laboratory Medicine, UCSF
  • Excellence in Teaching In the Inpatient Care Setting: P. Daniel Knott, MD, Associate Professor, Department of Otolaryngology, UCSF
  • Fresno Kaiser Award Winner TBD

Presentations for the award recipients will be made during the Convocation Ceremony in Cole Hall, Parnassus on Thursday, May 9, 2013. A reception will be held at the Nobel Wall (outside of Cole Hall) from 5:00-5:30, with the Teaching Awards ceremony from 5:30-6:30.

For photos, the full list of nominees, and more information visit


award, teaching