Background image

Medical Education
Graduate Medical Education

UCSF Excellence and Innovation in Graduate Medical Education Awards

We are pleased to announce the fourth annual UCSF Excellence and Innovation in Graduate Medical Education Awards.   

These awards recognize 1) a program coordinator or other GME administrative staff; 2) a faculty member (including program directors, associate program directors, etc); and 3) a resident or fellow for exemplary efforts to improve graduate medical education at UCSF.  

Nominees will have demonstrated a commitment to advancing graduate medical education at UCSF through educational and clinical quality improvement, service excellence, and innovation.   Examples of excellence and innovation might include:

  • Demonstrated educational leadership in his/her department, at UCSF, and/or nationally;
  • Participation in innovative GME-related projects (ie development of curriculum, QI projects, assessment strategies, etc.);
  • Extraordinary efforts to address resident/fellow needs and well-being;
  • Other contributions to improving graduate medical education at UCSF and/or nationally.

Nominations should be submitted to Andrea Cunningham ( by Wednesday, June 8, 2016.  Nominations should include at least two letters that highlight the nominee’s achievements, service excellence, and innovation in GME.  The letters may be from department and program leadership, faculty and staff, and/or residents and fellows.

The three awards will be publicly presented on June 14th at a special GME reception.


Past Winners:


Program Administrator:

  • Winnie Chan
  • Eve Dinh
  • Virginia Schuler


  • Robert Harrison, MD
  • Eric Widera, MD


  • Bryn Boslett, MD
  • Seunggu Han, MD
  • Jacob Robson, MD


Program Administrator:

  • Amy Forseth


  • Soonme Cha, MD
  • Erick Hung, MD

Lifetime Achievement:

  • Claire Brett, MD
  • Susan Promes, MD

Resident/ Fellow:

  • Lindsay Hampson, MD
  • Anobel Odisho, MD


Program Administrator:

  • Cathy Ratti
  • Sue Sheehan


  • Hali Hammer, MD
  • Jeff Kohlwes, MD


  • Herman Bagga, MD