Background image

Medical Education
Center for Faculty Educators

UCSF Recognized for Patient Safety as Part of the I-PASS Study Group

Glenn Rosenbluth, MDUC San Francisco is part of a patient safety research group that received the prestigious 2016 John M. Eisenberg Award for Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality. The award is presented annually by The Joint Commission and the National Quality Forum, two leading organizations that set standards in patient care.

UCSF is part of the I-PASS Study Group, which represents more than 50 hospitals from across North America dedicated to improving patient safety by standardizing provider communication during patient handoffs to reduce miscommunication that can lead to harmful medical errors. 

UCSF, a member of the I-PASS Study Group since 2012, is led by AME member Glenn Rosenbluth, MD, UCSF I-PASS site director and director of Quality and Safety Programs for the UCSF School of Medicine’s Graduate Medical Education team. Fellow AME member, Daniel West, MD, Vice Chair for Education and Residency Director in the Department of Pediatrics serves on the I-PASS Study Group’s executive council.

Read full article at