Background image

Medical Education
Center for Faculty Educators

Join Us October 18 for the UCSF School of Medicine Teaching Awards

Distinguished Teaching Awards 2015-2016

The Center for Faculty Educators (CFE) hosts an annual ceremony for UCSF School of Medicine teaching awards, and the 2016-2017 Teaching Awards Ceremony will be held on Wednesday, October 18, 2017, at 5:30 pm, in Cole Hall Auditorium at the Parnassus Campus (513 Parnassus Ave. Ground Floor, SF CA 94143). For more information, email Ivan Mendez.


This year's recipients to be recognized:

  • Charlotte Baer Memorial Award
    • John F. Brown, MD, MPA, Department of Emergency Medicine
  • Special Recognition Awards
    • Douglas Corley, MD, Department of Medicine
    • Kevin Hiler, MD, Department of Surgery
    • Richard Oken, MD, Department of Pediatrics
    • Lisa Tang, MD, Department of Family and Community Medicine
  • Bridges Curriculum - Foundations 1 Teaching Awards
    • Commitment to Teaching: Jesse Nussbaum, MD, Department of Medicine Medicine
    • Excellence in Innovative Teaching Modalities: Gabriel Mannis, MD, Department of Medicine
    • Excellence in Small Group Instruction by Faculty Member: Lisa Winston, MD, Department of Medicine
    • Excellence in Small Group Instruction by Student Instructor: Jackie DesJardin, MD, Class of 2017
    • Inspirational Teaching: Igor Mitrovic, MD, Department of Physiology
    • Outstanding Lecture: Jennifer Cocohoba, PharmD, Department of Clinical Pharmacy
    • Outstanding Lecture Series: Peter Chin-Hong, MD, Department of Medicine
  • Henry J. Kaiser Awards for Excellence in Teaching
    • Excellence in Teaching in an Ambulatory Care Setting: Emma Samelson-Jones, MD, Department of Psychiatry
    • Excellence in Teaching in a Classroom Setting: Mary (Mimi) Margaretten, MD, Department of Medicine
    • Excellence in Teaching in an Inpatient Care Setting: Cynthia Fenton, MD, Department of Medicine
    • Excellence in Teaching in the Fresno Medical Education Program: Lawrence, MD, Department of Surgery (Fresno)
  • Maxine Papadakis Awards for Faculty Professionalism and Respect
    • Dorre Nicholau, MD, PhD, Department of Anesthesia and Perioperative Care
    • Stephanie Rennke, MD, Department of Medicine
    • Jessica Opoku-Anane, MD, MS, Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Sciences
    • David Elkin, MD, MSL, Department of Psychiatry
    • John MacKenzie, MD, Department of Radiology and Biomedical Imaging