Background image

Medical Education
Center for Faculty Educators

Center for Faculty Educators Blog

2017 Teaching Scholars Graduates' Scholarly Presentations August 28, 2017

Join us as the graduating 2017 Teaching Scholars present their scholarly work in education in a mini-orals format.  The Teaching Scholars Program (TSP) develops educational leaders and scholars through an intensive seminar series, mentored projects, a network of educational colleagues, and collaborative learning.  Program Details | Learner Objectives | TSP Outcomes Class of 2017: Eyad Almasri, MD, Department of Medicine, UCSF Fresno Naomi Anker, MD, AM, Department of Medicine, VAMC... Read More

Kimberley Chan and Laura Pliska Receive the Academy's Boyden Staff Award August 28, 2017

Kimberley Chan, Residency Program Coordinator and Laura Pliska, Administrative Director of GME, are the recipients of the 2017 Jaclyne Witte Boyden Award.  Named for former Vice Dean Jackie Boyden, a strong advocate for the Academy’s establishment, Jaclyne Witte Boyden Award (Boyden Award) recipients are awarded and recognized annually at the Academy's Celebration of New Members. The Boyden Award honors and recognizes exemplary service by School of Medicine staff in support of medical... Read More

Posted Under: AME, award, CFE, Faculty, Staff

UCSF Teaching Faculty Honored with Award for Excellence in Teaching August 28, 2017

The Academy honors the 2017 Excellence in Teaching Award recipients as part of Academy's annual Celebration of New Members on Monday, September 11, from 3-5 p.m. in N-225, School of Nursing (Parnassus Campus). These annual peer-nominated awards for teaching faculty highlight outstanding front-line teachers of medical students, residents, and fellows at all UCSF teaching sites who often go unrecognized.  2017 Excellence in Teaching Award Recipients Nomination Information (2018 Cycle) Read More

Academy's Class of 2017 Announced August 28, 2017

The Haile T. Debas Academy of Medical Educators is pleased to announce our new members: Nima Afshar, MD, Medicine, SOM Amy B. Garlin, MD, Medicine, SOM Michelle Guy, MD, Medicine, SOM David Jull-Patterson, PhD, Psychiatry, SOM Ryan Laponis, MD, MSci, Medicine, SOM Ellen Laves, MD, Pediatrics, SOM Erin Mathes, MD, Dermatology, SOM Bradley Monash, MD, Medicine, SOM Alissa Peterson, MD, Psychiatry, SOM Nardine Saad Riegels, MD, Medicine, SOM Larissa Thomas, MD, MPH, Medicine, SOM... Read More

Presenting Your Work: Scholarship Opportunities for Educational Research July 31, 2017

Photo provided courtesy of the American Educational Research Association (AERA) If you are looking for an opportunity to present and share your educational scholarship, the American Educational Research Association's (AERA) annual meeting provides an optimal environment and is a popular conference with our CFE Educational Research team. Presenters have the opportunity to receive feedback from colleagues worldwide and gain valuable perspective on their work before submitting for publication or... Read More

Homegrown Medical Education Podcasts #NarrativesForTheWin July 31, 2017

We all have our favorite commute podcasts. But, did you know that there are at least two homegrown UCSF education podcasts, The Spark: Medical Education for the Curious Minds and Academic Life in Emergency Medicine (ALiEM)? In fact in co-writing this piece with new AME Communications Co-Champion, Michelle Lin, Anda Kuo remembered that Lin has her own (highly popular) podcast, ALiEM. ALiEM describes itself as "your digital connection to the cooperative world of EM. We strive to reshape medical... Read More

David Daikh, MD Appointed to Department of Medicine's Council of Master Clinicians June 20, 2017

David Daikh, MD, has been inducted into the Department of Medicine's Council of Master Clinicians, in the School of Medicine. The Council of Master Clinicians was established to honor department of medicine faculty providing high-quality patient care and teaching. See the other 2017 inductees and a complete list of of Master Clinicians online. Dr. Daikh is the rheumatology division chief at the SFVA Medical Center, and director of the rheumatology fellowship program at UCSF. Dr. Daikh was... Read More

Brian Schwartz, MD, receives the GME Excellence and Innovation Award June 20, 2017

Congratulations to Brian Schwartz, MD, Associate Professor in the School of Medicine for receiving the GME Excellence and Innovation Award! Dr. Schwartz is course director for the Pathogens & Host Defenses (PHD) Foundations 1 block in the Bridges Curriculum, Co-Chair of the Foundations 1 Operations Committee, Program Director for the Infectious Diseases Fellowship, and Chair of the Medical Education Working Group of the Infectious Diseases Society of America. Dr. Schwartz has been a member... Read More

Academics as businesspeople: how our #Meded research leaders can change our organizations June 12, 2017

This KeyLIME (Key Literature in Medical Education) podcast, from the Royal College of Physicans and Surgeons of Canada, reviews an abstract that questions the possibility of looking at HPESUs (health professions education scholarship units) as Institutional Entrepreneurs. Abstract authors include CFE Researchers Bridget O'Brien, PhD; Olle ten Cate, PhD; and David Irby, PhD. Publication details: Varpio L, O'Brien B, Durning S, van der Vleuten C, Gruppen L, Ten Cate O, Humphrey-Murto S, Irby... Read More

Tracy Fulton Honored by the International Association of Medical Science Educators June 12, 2017

Academy member Tracy Fulton, PhD, received a Master Teacher Award from the International Association of Medical Science Educators (IAMSE). The award honors an IAMSE member who has consistently demonstrated extraordinary excellence in teaching, both at her institution and within IAMSE. Dr. Fulton has been an Academy member since 2004. Read More