Background image

Medical Education
Center for Faculty Educators

Excellence in Teaching Awards

The Excellence in Teaching Awards are peer-nominated and intended to highlight outstanding front-line teachers of medical students, residents, and fellows. 

Excellence in Teaching Awardees 2015

2017 Cycle

Congratulations to our 2017 Recipients - view this years winners. Please join us to recognize these educators as part of our Celebration of New Members on Monday, September 11 at 3pm. RSVP for this event.

2018 Cycle

Eligibility Requirements

  • Cycle begins May 2018
  • Faculty teachers of UCSF School of Medicine students, residents, and fellows, including volunteer faculty and instructor from other schools (Dentistry, Pharmacy, and Nursing) that teach School of Medicine learners.
  • All faculty members at all UCSF teaching sites and affiliated sites including East Bay, Kaiser, Mission Bay, Mount Zion, Parnassus, UCSF Benioff Children's Hospitals (Oakland and San Francisco), UCSF Fresno, VAMC, and ZSFG.
    • Nominees are eligible from all UCSF teaching sites and affiliated sites who might otherwise go unrecognized. These teachers are "unsung heroes" who demonstrate daily their dedication to education and teach in a manner that creates an encouraging and intellectually stimulating environment, which promotes critical thinking and learning.
  • Excludes - Recipients in the past three years (2015-2017 recipients are not eligible): list to be posted May 2018
  • ExcludesMembers of the Academy of Medical Educators

Eligible Nominators are UCSF faculty members who are among the following:

  • Appointed Department Education Leadership (e.g. Vice Chairs for Education or other education-specific appointments)
  • Members of the Academy of Medical Educators
  • Residency Program Directors
  • Clerkship Directors
  • Course Directors and Course Co-Directors
  • Associate and Site Directors
  • Course Element Leaders (Foundations 1): which include the Foundational Science (FS) and Inquiry Immersion blocks, the longitudinal Core Inquiry Curriculum, and Clinical Microsystem Clerkship (CMC)
  • School of Medicine Coaches

Submission Guidelines:

  • Nominations due online by June 2018
  • Each nominee requires two faculty nominators
  • Nominee may be from within or outside of the nominator's department
  • Faculty who submit one primary nomination are allowed to be a secondary nominator for one additional nominee
  • The two nominators must submit a single nomination form attesting to the nominee's teaching qualities and characteristics, which is submitted to the recipient and department Chair.
    • 250 word or 1800 character maximum for each statement of support.
    • In your nomination, we suggest including direct quotes from learners and specific examples of teaching scenarios. Strive for as much specificity and objective evidence as possible, and provide any of the following:  numbers of learners reached, duration of teaching, objective evaluation data if available (e.g. MedHub). 
    • We request that nominators refrain from submitting mere lists of accomplishments or activities.
  • Submission online only; form URL posted May 2018

The Academy's Excellence in Teaching Awards Action Group reviews all nominations and determines the recipients. Recipients receive a certificate and letter copied to their department chair. 

Questions? Please contact Karen Brent at